My Garden

I’ve always loved to garden.  My Mom tells me one of her favorite memories of me is from the first year we lived in our house.  I was about 2 years old, and I was outside, wobbling around on my fat toddler legs, pointing at all the flowers in the yard and doing that cute baby squeal/giggle/clapping thing.  How fricken adorable!

When I got older, I helped my Mom in her huge garden.  We have a section of the yard we call the lower section because it, wait for it, is about 2 feet lower that the part of the yard the house its on.  Yeah, my family is wicked creative.  My mom used to fill the entire lower section with a vegetable garden bordered with flowers.  (When I was 12 she sacrificed the veggie garden for a gigantic pool, and now it’s a beautiful firepit surrounded by flowers, trees, and bushes that she’s worked 30+ years on.)  My first gardening memory is scattering Zinnia seeds at the edge of the veggie section, in the area my Mom had designated as my part of the garden.  I was about six.

Over the years I got too fat to really garden (360 lbs worth of fat) so i had some window boxes, but not much else.  If I lived in an apartment with a little backyard, I might do a small strip of flowers, but nothing that required me to be on my hands and knees for too long.  Then I got diagnosed with MS, and I got more physical problems, and eventually I got an apartment with a good size backyard, but even though I was no longer too fat to garden (yay for losing over 100 pounds!), my MS made it impossible for me to be down on the ground playing in the dirt.

Then, last year, my Dad built me an above ground garden!

Dad building the frame.

Image

Putting on the bottom of the garden base.

 Image

Adding the sides and section dividers.  Then drilling drain holes for the excess water.

Image

 Adding the soil. Note the cute shelf Dad added for me to put plants and my tools on when I was working.Image

All done and ready for planting!

Image

What’s so awesome about this (besides the fact that is was custom built by my kickass Dad) is that because it was custom built by my kickass Dad, it’s the perfect height for me.  I can stand there and garden, plus lean over to the middle of each section without crushing whatever I’m growing.  And, if I ever move, Dad can just take it apart and rebuild it at my new place, so I don’t lose my garden! Genius!

I’ve had to say goodbye to some things in my life because of my MS (my career, some dreams, some experiences I wanted to have, some people), but I’m learning how to make things adaptable so I can keep some things as well.  Of course, it helps to have a Dad who is handy with an electric saw and a drill. 🙂

About Becki

I'm Becki, I'm 39, and I'm crazy (but also fucking awesome). :) You can follow me on Twitter @Koppur (pronounced Copper, like the color of my hair - Redheads kick ass!) or just adore me here.
This entry was posted in Gardening, MS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

