I Ikea, Do You?

Spent the morning building my new kitchen/dinning table.  Ok, maybe not actually building it.  More like like trying to decipher the badly drawn images to figure out what screws into what hole (shut up) and then almost killing my cat Wolfie when I went to slide the heavy tabletop down from the wall it was propped up against onto the floor (she was sleeping underneath it, like it was a little wooden tent.  Adorable, but I almost ended up with a Wolfie Pancake, and everyone knows I don’t eat bread products anymore.).

Thanks for the help, Gumby.

Thanks for the help, Gumby.

I got about half way through the assemblage (I totally sounded smart there, right?), when my drill died.  So I took a break to recharge the battery and eat lunch while Wolfie slept in the box the table came in.

Wolfie being totally adorable.

Wolfie being totally adorable.

After realizing I didn’t need my drill to finish the table, I hammered the shit out of the plastic nails they gave me to build the six drawers it has.  It was fun – I just pretended I was hammering tiny ex-boyfriends.

"Oh, I missed and hit your thumb! Sorry, I was aiming for you head."

“Oh, I missed and hit your thumb! Sorry, I was aiming for you head.”

But now the fun is over, and my table is done. I love that the sides fold down when I’m not using it so it takes up barely any space at all, but if I need it, I can open both sides and seat 4-6 people.  And it has 6 drawers to hide stuff.  I already have one filled with tools and one filled with my nail polishes.  I just love that Ikea!

wpid-img_20140512_164253.jpg

Wolfie, however, is pouting and ignoring me because I threw her box in the trash.

She's giving me the butt and giving those other filled boxes the evil eye.  Not a happy girl!

She’s giving me the butt and giving those other filled boxes the evil eye. Not a happy girl!

About Becki

I'm Becki, I'm 39, and I'm crazy (but also fucking awesome). :) You can follow me on Twitter @Koppur (pronounced Copper, like the color of my hair - Redheads kick ass!) or just adore me here.
This entry was posted in Solstice and Wolfie, What I Did Today and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

